Why is it so hard to achieve happiness that endures?

More than twenty years in the making, The Ten Worlds answers this question by arguing that we’re all clinging to nine basic beliefs about how to achieve happiness that are wrong. Termed the core delusions, these nine basic beliefs give rise to nine different life-conditions—nine worlds—through which we all continuously cycle. From lowest to highest, they are: Hell, Hunger, Animality, Anger, Tranquility, Rapture, Learning, Realization, and Compassion. In helping readers figure out which of the nine worlds is theirs, authors Lickerman and ElDifrawi reveal why the happiness we all typically experience is so fragile and temporary.

But there exists another kind of happiness, a happiness that can’t be destroyed by anything—the kind of happiness found in the tenth world, the world of Enlightenment.

Founded neither in mysticism nor the supernatural, the world of Enlightenment is discussed for the first time as a psychological state created by a belief in a core truth, one that if we fully embrace will at last enable us to achieve the kind of happiness we all want. A happiness that endures no matter what.

The Ten Worlds


Meet the Authors

Alex Lickerman

Alex Lickerman, M.D.

Read Bio
Ash ELDifrawi

Ash ElDifrawi, Psy.D.

Read Bio